Menu Close

What are the names of the London Underground stations?

What are the names of the London Underground stations?

London Tube stations

  • Stamford Brook Underground Station. Tube Station.
  • Covent Garden Underground Station. Tube Station.
  • Piccadilly Circus Underground Station. Tube Station.
  • Seven Sisters Underground Station.
  • Stratford Underground Station.
  • Vauxhall Underground Station.
  • Westminster Underground Station.
  • Aldgate Underground Station.

How many underground stations are there?

270 stations
Over 1,000 bodies lie beneath Aldgate station, which is built over a plague pit from 1665. The London Underground has a staggering 270 stations. The longest possible single journey on one train is 34 miles, between West Ruislip and Epping on the Central Line.

How many London Underground stations are underground?

London Underground, better known as the Tube, has 11 lines covering 402km and serving 270 stations. The Tube handles up to five million passenger journeys a day. At peak times, there are more than 543 trains whizzing around the Capital.

What is the oldest underground station?

What are the oldest and newest Tube lines? The London Underground first opened in 1863 as the oldest section of underground railway in the world, running between Paddington (then known as Bishop’s Road) and Farringdon Street on what is now part of the Circle, Hammersmith and City and Metropolitan lines.

What are the 11 tube lines?

The system is composed of eleven lines – Bakerloo, Central, Circle, District, Hammersmith & City, Jubilee, Metropolitan, Northern, Piccadilly, Victoria, Waterloo & City – serving 272 stations. It is operated by Transport for London (TfL).

What is the busiest station on the London Underground?

List of busiest London Underground stations

Rank (2018) Station 2018
1 King’s Cross St. Pancras 89.82
2 Victoria 84.47
3 Oxford Circus 76.40
4 Waterloo 76.54

What is the slowest underground line?

Bakerloo is slowest line and Central is fastest There you have it. But the Central is worst for overcrowding as a result, apparently.

Which underground line is the longest?

11. The longest continuous tunnel is on the Northern line and runs from East Finchley to Morden (via Bank), a total of 17.3 miles.

How many London underground stations are abandoned?

There are 270 functioning stations across our network, but at least 40 Overground and Underground stations still in existence are no longer used for travel….Disused underground stations.

Name Line Closed
Down Street Great Northern Piccadilly and Brompton Railway 1932
Brompton Road Great Northern Piccadilly and Brompton Railway 1934

What do Londoners call underground?

the Tube
London Underground, also called the Tube, underground railway system that services the London metropolitan area.

What are the 11 lines on the London Underground?

Why does South London have no underground?

When the first private tube companies began operating after 1863, they focused on north London, where there was more opportunity. So the lack of south London tube stations came about because, once upon a time, that side of the river was actually better connected. Just remember that next time your train gets delayed.