Menu Close

Does a basket count if it hits the top of the backboard?

Does a basket count if it hits the top of the backboard?

ANSWER: Under all codes, a ball hitting the top of the backboard (as well as the sides and bottom) is considered as “in play.” However, if the ball goes OVER the top or touches any of the supporting braces above or behind the backboard, it is considered to be out of bounds.

Does a basket count if it goes up through the net and back down?

No. The player that knocked it through the underside of the hoop committed a violation. The opponent should get the ball. Just for clarification, the ball must pass all the way through the basket from below for this to be a violation.

Is behind the backboard out of bounds?

Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in any direction, or enters the cylinder from below is considered out-of-bounds. In both cases, the ball clearly goes over the backboard, but it never goes directly behind the backboard.

What happens if you shoot in the wrong basket?

A shooting foul can only occur when trying to shoot at the basket which will increase your own team’s score. Therefore, if you were somehow shooting at your own basket and got fouled, it would be the same as a normal non-shooting foul. You would not get free throws unless you were in the “bonus”.

Can you catch your own airball?

Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is. Step-throughs are not traveling.

What is the line under the basket called?

The Baseline/Endline runs from sideline to sideline behind the backboard at the ends of the court. They are located four feet behind the basket, and normally have a width of 50 feet. Baseline and Endline are interchangeable terms depending upon which team has ball position.

Can you goaltend a free throw?

In high school and NCAA basketball, if goaltending is called on a free throw, the shooting team is awarded one point and a technical foul is called against the offending player. It is possible for a team to goaltend at the buzzer, although this is very rare.

What are the two lines at each end of the basketball court?

Can you pass to another player out of bounds?

Totally legal, and remember the defense cannot touch the ball unless it crosses the plane of the OOB line. Yes, player has to step out of bounds first before receiving a pass. If player is in the air and receives the pass before landing out of bounds, it’s a legal throw-in and the player stepped out of bounds.

Why do we need to throw or shoot the ball in the opponent’s basket instead in your own basket?

Answer: The aim of basketball is to score more points than the other team, by making the ball in the basket. Players on one team try to stop players on the other team from scoring. You get points by “shooting” (throwing or dropping) the ball into the opponents’ basket.

Does a fouled shot count as an attempt?

Statistical Interpretation. If a player is taking a shot and is fouled while shooting and the ball goes through the hoop, she gets credited with a shot made and charged with a shot attempt, according to the NCAA. However, if that shot is not successful, the player does not get charged with a shooting attempt.

Are you allowed to fake a free throw?

The free throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. If the free throw attempt is to remain in play, the opposing team shall inbound on either sideline at the free throw line extended. If the free throw attempt is not to remain in play, then play will continue from that point.

Can a basketball player shoot over the backboard?

The International Basketball Federation features a rule that distinctly differs from the NBA and NCAA. A player can plant his feet behind the basket without driving to the hoop and legally deliver a shot that passes straight over the backboard. It’s only disallowed if the ball touches the basket support, or if the player steps on the baseline.

When is a basketball out of bounds in basketball?

Yes and No. According to the rules of basketball, if the ball hits the top of the backboard and goes over it is considered out of bounds. If it hits the top of the backboard and hits the support brackets it is out of bounds. So anytime the basketball goes over the backboard it is out of bounds.

What happens if you throw the ball in the basket?

If you are underneath the basket and throw the ball and it hits the backboard it is also a turnover on possession. The lines that make up the inbound and out of bounds on the court is the perimeter, this is the area of the basketball court everything inside the lines is in bounds, everything outside is out of bounds.

When is the backboard considered out of bounds?

The whole backboard is not considered all inbounds, there are parts of the backboard when the ball hits or crosses, it is considered out of bounds and a change in possesion. The rim can also be considered out of bounds or a vioaltion, find out how.