Menu Close

What is the reprisal according to the Civil Service Reform Act?

What is the reprisal according to the Civil Service Reform Act?

Reprisal is retaliation against an individual who has engaged in activities protected under Federal antidiscrimination and whistleblower protection laws.

What does management directive 715 provide to federal agencies public disclosure and proactive prevention Page 5 of 14?

MD-715 requires agencies to take proactive steps to ensure equal employment opportunity for all their employees and applicants for employment by regularly evaluating their employment practices to identify and eliminate barriers that hamper the advancement of any racial or ethnic group in federal agencies.

Which US federal law protects federal workers from retaliation or reprisal?

The No FEAR Act
The No FEAR Act increases the accountability of federal departments and agencies for acts of discrimination or reprisal against employees. The No FEAR Act requires that federal agencies be accountable for violations of anti-discrimination and whistleblower protection laws.

Which of the following is an example of discrimination on the basis of reprisal?

Which of the following is an example of discrimination on the basis of reprisal? An employee is denied a promotion solely because of their participation in the discrimination complaint process.

What is the primary purpose of the No FEAR Act?

This law became effective on October 1, 2003. The primary purpose of the Act is to improve agency accountability for antidiscrimination and whistleblower laws. Under the No FEAR Act, agencies must pay for settlements, awards or judgments against them in whistleblower and discrimination cases out of their own budgets.

What is the Equal employment Opportunity Act?

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, protects applicants and employees from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment, on the basis of race, color, religion.

What are employment related activities that are banned in the federal workplace?

PPPs are employment-related activities that are banned in the federal workforce because they violate the government’s merit system through some form of employment discrimination, retaliation, improper hiring practices, or failure to adhere to laws, rules, or regulations that directly concern the merit system principles …

What does the Whistleblower Protection Act cover?

The Whistleblower Protection Act protects “any disclosure of information” by federal government employees that they “reasonably believes evidences an activity constituting a violation of law, rules, or regulations, or mismanagement, gross waste of funds, abuse of authority or a substantial and specific danger to public …

Who does the No FEAR Act protect?

A: Title II of the No FEAR Act authorizes OPM, through a delegation of authority from the President, to issue rules regarding an agency’s obligation to: 1) reimburse the Judgment Fund for payments made to employees, former employees, and applicants, because of actual or alleged violations of Federal antidiscrimination …

What are the 7 types of discrimination?

Types of Discrimination

  • Age Discrimination.
  • Disability Discrimination.
  • Sexual Orientation.
  • Status as a Parent.
  • Religious Discrimination.
  • National Origin.
  • Pregnancy.
  • Sexual Harassment.

What are 4 basic principles of EEO?

Equal Employment Opportunity is a principle that asserts that all people should have the right to work and advance on the bases of merit and ability, regardless of their race, sex, color, religion, disability, national origin, or age.

Who does the Equal Opportunity Act protect?

The legislation protects people from discrimination on the basis of their individual attributes in certain areas of public life, and provides redress for people who have been discriminated against. It also aims to eliminate, as far as possible, discrimination, sexual harassment and victimisation.

What was the Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989?

Congress thereafter revisited the issue and passed the Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989 (WPA), which – unlike the broader Civil Service Reform Act – was specifically tailored to help Federal employees who jeopardized their careers by making whistleblower disclosures in the public interest.

What did Congress do to protect whistleblowers?

In its next significant legislation affecting Federal whistleblowers, Congress passed the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978, which, among other things, attempted to protect Federal whistleblowers by giving them an appeal right to the Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB) when they suffered reprisal for disclosing specific types of wrongdoing.

Can a whistleblower appeal to the Office of Special Counsel?

The WPA allows a whistleblower who has suffered reprisal to appeal a personnel action that is not normally appealable if he or she first files a complaint with the Office of Special Counsel (OSC) and exhausts his or her administrative remedy with OSC.

How did the False Claims Act protect whistleblowers?

One of the first pieces of legislation to recognize the value of whistleblowers was the False Claims Act of 1863, which sought to protect the U.S. Government against rampant fraud from unscrupulous suppliers during the Civil War by offering a percentage of the recovered damages to people who disclosed such fraud.