Menu Close

What is a critical sensitive position?

What is a critical sensitive position?

A critical sensitive position has the potential to cause exceptionally grave damage to the national security. A special sensitive position security has the potential to cause inestimable damage to the national security.

What position designation is for access to top secret?

Critical-sensitive positions are civilian national security positions that have the potential to cause exceptionally grave damage to the nation’s security, including but not limited to, positions requiring eligibility for access to Top Secret or DOE “Q” level classified information, positions involving development or …

What is position sensitivity?

Position sensitivity determines the type of security investigation required before individuals can be assigned to sensitive positions and granted the applicable clearance level (e.g., SECRET, TOP SECRET, etc.). Security investigations for sensitive positions often take up to a year to complete and are quite costly.

What are the 3 civilian position sensitivity designations?

Valid position sensitivity designations are:

  • Nonsensitive (Low Risk)
  • Nonsensitive Public Trust (High Risk, Moderate Risk)
  • Noncritical-Sensitive (High Risk or Moderate Risk)
  • Special-Sensitive or Critical-Sensitive (High Risk)

Is critical sensitive top secret?

Work deemed Critical Sensitive requires a Top Secret clearance. Special Sensitive work requires access to Sensitive Compartmented Information and therefore a Top Secret / Sensitive Compartmented Information (TS/SCI) clearance. GSA does not issue DoD clearances because it does not create classified information.

What are the 5 levels of security clearance?

National Security Clearances are a hierarchy of five levels, depending on the classification of materials that can be accessed—Baseline Personnel Security Standard (BPSS), Counter-Terrorist Check (CTC), Enhanced Baseline Standard (EBS), Security Check (SC) and Developed Vetting (DV).

Is critical sensitive Top Secret?

What is non sensitive low risk?

A Non-Sensitive Low Risk position designation means that the employee is in a low risk position that does not have sensitive duties involving public trust or national security and does not need access to classified national security information (CNSI).

How much is a Top Secret SCI clearance worth? reports that the “average total compensation” for professionals with security clearances approximately is $90,000.

How long does it take to upgrade from Secret to Top Secret?

In general, expect a CONFIDENTIAL or SECRET clearance to take between 1 and 3 months. A TOP SECRET will probably take between 4 and 8 months. However, some individuals have been waiting for the results of their TOP SECRET investigation for more than one year.

What disqualifies you from a top secret clearance?

Top secret clearance holders must have no significant financial concerns. If the background check reveals a considerable amount of debt, missed payments, tax evasion, collection judgments, check fraud, foreclosures, embezzlement or bankruptcies, your application might be rejected.

What are national security positions and access to classified information?

Section 1. National Security Positions and Access to Classified Information (1) This transmits revised IRM 10.23.1, National Security Positions and Access to Classified Information. (1) IRM section title changed from Personnel Security to National Security Positions and Access to Classified Information.

What kind of information is not classified or sensitive?

Information that is not designated as classified, sensitive-enhanced, or sensitive information is by default designated as nonsensitive information. An example is publicly available information.

When is information classified as high or critical?

Information is designated as critical (high) information if its unavailability would have a catastrophic adverse impact on the following: Customer or employee life, safety, or health. Payment to suppliers or employees. Revenue collection. Movement of mail. Communications. Legal or regulatory.

What kind of risk is a non-critical sensitive position?

A position at the Non-critical Sensitive level will automatically carry a risk designation at the moderate risk level, unless the IRS determines that the position should be designated at the high risk level.