Menu Close

What country in Africa is located north of the Equator?

What country in Africa is located north of the Equator?

Northern Africa countries (7) – Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara. Central or Middle African countries (9) – Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Republic – Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and São Tomé & Principe.

How much of Africa is north of the Equator?

Another commonly misplaced continent is Africa. North Americans tend to think of Africa as a located almost entirely in the southern hemisphere, similar to South America. But in reality, around two-thirds of Africa is north of the equator.

Is North Africa near the Equator?

The continent is cut almost equally in two by the Equator, so that most of Africa lies within the tropical region, bounded on the north by the Tropic of Cancer and on the south by the Tropic of Capricorn. Because of the bulge formed by western Africa, the greater part of Africa’s territory lies north of the Equator.

Which country is North Africa?

North Africa, region of Africa comprising the modern countries of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya.

Who Found Africa?

Portuguese explorer Prince Henry, known as the Navigator, was the first European to methodically explore Africa and the oceanic route to the Indies.

How many countries does Africa have?

54 countries
There are 54 countries in Africa today, according to the United Nations.

What is the original name of Africa?

In Kemetic History of Afrika, Dr cheikh Anah Diop writes, “The ancient name of Africa was Alkebulan. Alkebu-lan “mother of mankind” or “garden of Eden”.” Alkebulan is the oldest and the only word of indigenous origin. It was used by the Moors, Nubians, Numidians, Khart-Haddans (Carthagenians), and Ethiopians.

What is the main religion in North Africa?

Islam is the dominant religion in North Africa and some of the Horn of Africa, which is majority Christian.

What are the 3 largest countries in North Africa?

Largest Countries In Africa 2021

Rank Country Subregion
1 Algeria Northern Africa
2 Dr Congo Middle Africa
3 Sudan Northern Africa
4 Libya Northern Africa

How long did Africa rule the world?

15,000 years
Africa ruled the world for 15,000 years and civilized mankind.

Where in Africa was the first human?

The earliest humans developed out of australopithecine ancestors after about 3 million years ago, most likely in Eastern Africa, most likely in the area of the Kenyan Rift Valley, where the oldest known stone tools were found.

What countries are near the equator?

Ecuador Americas

  • Colombia Americas
  • Brazil Americas
  • São Tomé and Príncipe Africa
  • Gabon Africa
  • Congo Africa
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo Africa
  • Uganda Africa
  • Kenya Africa
  • Somalia Africa
  • What are six African countries touch the equator?

    São Tomé and Principe

  • Gabon
  • Republic of the Congo
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Uganda
  • Kenya
  • Somalia
  • Maldives
  • Indonesia
  • Kiribati
  • What African capital is closest to the equator?

    In Africa, the equator cuts through close to the center of the continent, north to south. It crosses Gabon near the capital, Libreville, about one third of the way through the country from the northernmost border. The line also runs through Republic of the Congo, with a similar division of territory to that in Gabon.

    What is the distance across Africa at the equator?

    In Africa, the equator runs for almost 2,500 miles/ 4,020 kilometers through seven West, Central and East African countries just south of the Sahara Desert. Ironically, the list of African countries bisected by the equator does not include Equatorial Guinea.