Menu Close

What are the region of flame?

What are the region of flame?

There are three zones in the Bunsen burner flame- Inner zone, middle zone and the outer zone.

What are the three distinct zones of a Bunsen flame?

Three zones, for example, are apparent in the Bunsen burner flame: an inner zone of unburned gas; a middle zone called the reduction zone or reducing flame, since there the supply of oxygen is deficient and the oxygen is therefore removed from an oxide placed in it; and an outer, or oxidizing, zone.

What is combustion zone?

Combustion zone means the portion of the internal capacity of an incinerator where the gas temperatures of the materials being burned are within 100 degrees Celsius of the specified operating temperature.

What is flame front in combustion?

Flame combustion is most prominent with fuels that have been premixed with an oxidant, either oxygen or a compound that provides oxygen, for the reaction. The chemical reaction in such flames occurs within a narrow zone several micrometres thick. This combustion zone is usually called the flame front.

How is a flame formed?

Fire is the rapid oxidation of a material (the fuel) in the exothermic chemical process of combustion, releasing heat, light, and various reaction products. At a certain point in the combustion reaction, called the ignition point, flames are produced.

What is flame and its types?

There are three types of flames natural flame, carburizing flame and oxidizing flame. Natural flame has synchronized mixture of fuel and oxygen, carburizing flame has more fuel and oxidizing flame has more oxygen. Different material used different flames according to weld condition.

What Colour will a bunsen flame be when the air hole is open?

The flame when the air-hole is open is blue, luminous, and clean. When the air-hole is closed, however, there is less oxygen available. This results in incomplete combustion of the gas. The color of the flame changes to yellow and the flame is wavy.

How many zones of a flame are there?

three zones
There are three zones in the candle flame in which the non – luminous zone is the zone of complete combustion, the luminous zone has limited oxygen supply and is moderately hot and the third zone is the dark zone which does not burn due to the absence of air.

What are the types of combustion?

Here’s a closer look at five types of combustion:

  • Complete Combustion. Complete combustion requires a combination of fuel and oxygen.
  • Incomplete Combustion. Incomplete combustion occurs when there is not enough oxygen for the fuel to fully react.
  • Rapid Combustion.
  • Spontaneous Combustion.
  • Explosive Combustion.

Which is a zone of no combustion?

dark zone
The dark zone is the zone where no combustion takes place.

How fast does a flame front travel?

35 to 40 cm per sec.
generally flame propagation speed is in the range of 35 to 40 cm per sec.

Is a flame combustion?

Fire is the visible effect of the process of combustion – a special type of chemical reaction. Combustion is when fuel reacts with oxygen to release heat energy. Combustion can be slow or fast depending on the amount of oxygen available. Combustion that results in a flame is very fast and is called burning.

What makes up the middle zone of a flame?

2. Middle zone: The middle zone also known as luminous zone is the zone which is moderately hot with limited oxygen supply. Hence, the fuel vapours burn partially and produce carbon particles. These particles then leave the flame as smoke and soot. This zone is the major part of the flame.

Which is part of a fire undergoes complete combustion?

The middle region undergoes partial burning and therefore has an intermediate temperature. The outermost region gets maximum oxygen supply and complete combustion takes place. So, the temperature is maximum in the outermost region. 15. Which of the following factors are essential to ignite a fire?

Where does partial combustion of fuel take place?

It is moderately hot and partial combustion of fuel takes place. The least hot region of the flame is present innermost. This inner zone is black due to the presence of unburnt wax vapours. How is a flame formed?

Which is part of a flame has the lowest temperature?

Solution: The inner region of a flame mostly has vapourised wax and very little burning takes place there, so its temperature is lowest. The middle region undergoes partial burning and therefore has an intermediate temperature.